Select Page

Tomorrow’s

Child

The International Magazine for Montessori Families

Table of Contents | MARCH 2021 ISSUE

Woodworking by Lorna McGrath & Pete Moorhouse

Developing Attention Span via Polishing
by Julia Vollkman

Teach Your Children Well by Bridgett Wheeler

Why Schools Should Teach Entrepreneur-ship by Maya Spikes

How to Explain the Covid Vaccine as a Story by Gavin McCormack

Why Montessori Schools Succeed in a Crisis by Elizabeth Topliffe

Individual Liberty and the Common Good
by Andrew Kutt

The Path to Literacy by Charlotte Snyder

Bedtime Routines
by Lorna McGrath &
Tim Seldin

Parenting with Intention  by Cindy Acker

The Wonder of Woodworking

The Wonder of Woodworking

Especially since many schools have been forced online by Covid, we have received some letters from parents asking this question: What should we do if our child doesn’t like or bond with her teacher (in person or online)? In a normal year, our advice would typically be to first go to the teacher and try to have an honest conversation directly as adults.

Virtual Relationship Building

Virtual Relationship Building

If it were not for virtual meetings, FaceTime, and the occasional video, I would not be able to interact with my children and grandchildren, who live in other states. It has literally been a year since I’ve been with them in person.

Tomorrow’s

Child

The International Magazine for Montessori Families
Tomorrow’s Child (ISSN 10716246), published four times a year, is the official magazine of The Montessori Foundation, a non-profit organization. The opinions expressed in Tomorrow’s Child editorials, columns, and features are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the position of the magazine or The Montessori Foundation. Acceptance of advertising does not represent the Foundation’s endorsement of any product or service. It is policy of The Montessori Foundation, a non-profit organization, to encourage support for the organization by discounting the sale of School Group Memberships to the MFA that include Tomorrow’s Child magazine to enable schools to make the magazine available to their families. The Montessori Foundation does not grant permission to reprint material from Tomorrow’s Child in any other form (book, newsletter, journals). Copies of this issue or back issues are available for purchase through our online bookstore. For School Group Memberships, call 800-655-5843 (toll free), or place your order at here. The Montessori Foundation does not provide refunds for cancelled School Group Memberships. Send all correspondence to: The Montessori Foundation | 19600 E State Road 64, Bradenton, FL 34212-8921 EDITOR Joyce St. Giermaine PRESIDENT Tim Seldin PROGRAM DIRECTOR Lorna McGrath EVENTS & MEMBERSHIP Bridgett Wheeler DISPLAY ADVERTISING Joyce St. Giermaine BOOKKEEPER Don Dinsmore FULFILLMENT Kristi Antczak CREATIVE DIRECTOR Katrina Costedio
Workshops, IMC Memberships, Past Issues & Orders or Questions about an Order Bridgett Wheeler Phone: 941-309-3961/Toll Free: 800-632-4121 bridgettwheeler@montessori.org Project Assistant Kristi Antczak kristiantczak@montessori.org Conference Coordinator George Markham georgemarkham@montessori.org
Subscriptions & Bookkeeping, & Classified Ads Don Dinsmore Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 Fax: 941-745-3111 dondinsmore@montessori.org Display Advertising Joyce St. Giermaine Phone: 941-729-9565/Fax: 941-745-3111 joycestgiermaine@montessori.org Montessori Family Alliance Lorna McGrath Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 lornamcgrath@montessori.org
Executive Director of the IMC Kathy Leitch Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 kathyleitch@montessori.org Senior Consultant Tanya Ryskind, JD tanyaryskind@montessori.org Senior Consultant Robin Howe, EdD robinhowe@montessori.org