Select Page

Tomorrow’s

Child

The International Magazine for Montessori Families

Table of Contents | MAY 2021 ISSUE

Is Learning “Lost” When Kids Are Out of School?

Is Learning “Lost” When Kids Are Out of School?

Anguish and even anger are entirely appropriate reactions to the fact that Covid-19 infection rates are still too high in most areas to permit the safe reopening of schools. Not only do many of our kids miss their friends and the chance to make new ones, but school attendance is a prerequisite for millions of parents to go to work. Also, schools provide healthy meals, which matters in a country with appalling levels of poverty and hunger.

Seeing the World Through Your Child’s Eyes

Seeing the World Through Your Child’s Eyes

One of the keys to creating a calm and peaceful home is to learn how to see the world from your child’s perspective. Maria Montessori challenged us to ‘follow the child’. To do this, first we must have a sense of how your children think, feel, and react. For example, take this child. He is looking up and you can tell that he is looking at someone or something really tall. He is probably looking up at an adult that he loves. Imagine how the world looks to him at two or three feet tall.

Book Review | Right now, I Am Brave

Book Review | Right now, I Am Brave

by Dr. Daniela Owen Illustrated by Gülce Baycik Here’s another good one from Dr. Owen. The first lesson—when things that we find scary are not actually dangerous, it’s time to be brave. She goes on to define what it means to be brave. She explains how our brains are...

Tomorrow’s

Child

The International Magazine for Montessori Families
Tomorrow’s Child (ISSN 10716246), published four times a year, is the official magazine of The Montessori Foundation, a non-profit organization. The opinions expressed in Tomorrow’s Child editorials, columns, and features are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the position of the magazine or The Montessori Foundation. Acceptance of advertising does not represent the Foundation’s endorsement of any product or service. It is policy of The Montessori Foundation, a non-profit organization, to encourage support for the organization by discounting the sale of School Group Memberships to the MFA that include Tomorrow’s Child magazine to enable schools to make the magazine available to their families. The Montessori Foundation does not grant permission to reprint material from Tomorrow’s Child in any other form (book, newsletter, journals). Copies of this issue or back issues are available for purchase through our online bookstore. For School Group Memberships, call 800-655-5843 (toll free), or place your order at here. The Montessori Foundation does not provide refunds for cancelled School Group Memberships. Send all correspondence to: The Montessori Foundation | 19600 E State Road 64, Bradenton, FL 34212-8921 EDITOR Joyce St. Giermaine PRESIDENT Tim Seldin PROGRAM DIRECTOR Lorna McGrath EVENTS & MEMBERSHIP Bridgett Wheeler DISPLAY ADVERTISING Joyce St. Giermaine BOOKKEEPER Don Dinsmore FULFILLMENT Kristi Antczak CREATIVE DIRECTOR Katrina Costedio
Workshops, IMC Memberships, Past Issues & Orders or Questions about an Order Bridgett Wheeler Phone: 941-309-3961/Toll Free: 800-632-4121 bridgettwheeler@montessori.org Project Assistant Kristi Antczak kristiantczak@montessori.org Conference Coordinator George Markham georgemarkham@montessori.org
Subscriptions & Bookkeeping, & Classified Ads Don Dinsmore Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 Fax: 941-745-3111 dondinsmore@montessori.org Display Advertising Joyce St. Giermaine Phone: 941-729-9565/Fax: 941-745-3111 joycestgiermaine@montessori.org Montessori Family Alliance Lorna McGrath Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 lornamcgrath@montessori.org
Executive Director of the IMC Kathy Leitch Phone: 941-729-9565/800-655-5843 kathyleitch@montessori.org Senior Consultant Tanya Ryskind, JD tanyaryskind@montessori.org Senior Consultant Robin Howe, EdD robinhowe@montessori.org